Skip to content

Nightstand Piles Up With New Fiction

I know I haven’t been posting as regularly.
I got some private email grief about this, to which I say:

Whew.

Thanks for noticing.

You’re sweet blog people, you.

While my writing may be sporadic, the night stand is still filled. (Remember? I had them analyzed for god’s sake.)

But while my writing falling behind is one thing, I’m missing those comments from all of you.
I am used to more activity, people.

Well, the book lists usually bring you out in droves–so pile on this!

This month, it’s a bit hardback bound, so get out those Kindles and iPads to save some dough. There’s been some good stuff, new stuff released. So stay on top of it folks.

In no particular order and definitely aspirational….

1. Freedom, Jonathan Franzen (half way through, loving)

2. The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake, Aimee Bender (on the fence here, anyone?)

3. Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand, Helen Simonson (Hat tip: Peter S)

4. What is Left the Daughter, Howard Norman (author The Bird Artist, good review)

5. I Curse the River of Time, Per Patterson (author Out Stealing Horses, wonderful)

This is what is sitting (figuratively in some cases) on the nightstand.

And for the visually inclined, here for easy identification…


What are you reading BookSnobs?


16 Comments Post a comment
  1. Judy G. #

    Definitely have been missing your posts. My book group just finished reading “Cutting for Stone” — big hit with us, then we read “The Forgotten Garden” – mixed reviews; entertaining though – light Summer read. We’re in our non-fiction month, and selected two since they’re both pretty small. The first is “Have a Little Faith”, Mitch Albom, 2nd is “Half Broke Horses”, Jeannette Walls.

    August 6, 2010
    • I’m glad to hear that about Cutting for Stone….several have recommended, but when I looked at the back cover, didn’t compel me. Will add it!

      August 6, 2010
  2. Jim Olesen #

    I will certainly try Jonathan Franzen’s new novel, but it will have to be “someday.” I promised myself in May that this would be the summer for finally reading The Brothers Karamazov. It’s August 6, and I’m on page 53. The Fall semester begins on August 26. I have a long way to go with a book that takes sustained reading at a time when sustained time and the ability to sustain (see Nicholas Carr’s The Shallows) come in short supply.

    I like your blog!

    Jim

    August 6, 2010
    • Can’t read a magazine anywhere without reading something about the Shallows. That’s a post for another day. As for the Bros. K–very ambitious! You better start rocking that before Chuck shows up with the G&Ts.

      August 6, 2010
  3. Michelle Klekamp #

    Completely agree with your recent review of Little Bee by the way. As for the newest list… Looks like some good ones! Just finished The Book Thief (excellent!) and Olive Kittridge (not so excellent). Have Elegance of the Hedgehog and Raising Happiness on my shelf right now. Need to be rereading Jane Eyre after so many years as my book club is reading that one this year. Haven’t unearthed it yet :)
    Keep the great reviews coming!

    August 6, 2010
  4. egghead23 #

    I am reading an older one, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer, but in general I am having a hard time this summer getting into anything. Could be me though.

    I am thinking of kicking it really old school with something like A Tree Grows in Brooklyn.

    August 6, 2010
    • EL&IC was terrific. Hilarious. And A Tree Grows….magnificent. I like where you are heading…

      August 6, 2010
  5. Carole #

    Some excellent choices! I recently finished Two Rivers for my book club and thought it was very good. Just before that, I read Vanished Smile (about the theft of the Mona Lisa) – a true detective story! And I’m currently reading Constable in Love (about the British artist John Constable). Unfortunately, that one is not available in the US – not even on Kindle.

    August 6, 2010
  6. All new titles to me, excellent. And likely most appreciated by the readers. Thanks Carole.

    August 6, 2010
  7. Diane Johnson #

    Nice list Katy,thank you. I’m glad you are posting again. Though, I’m not sure how you are fitting us in.I just finished the three books in the series of Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Olive Kitterage, Sarah’s Key and Goat Song. I’m ready for a really good book to sink myself into as I wrap up summer reading.

    August 10, 2010
  8. Barbara #

    I started Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand Monday, hope to finish it this weekend. I bought it several months ago based on some reviews I read, then forgot about it. I am really enjoying it. The older I get the more fond I am of books that address the emotional/love lives of people over the age of 35.

    August 13, 2010
    • Just finished it. I hope to get the review up by the weekend!

      August 17, 2010
  9. easyreader #

    A great list. I just finished The Three Weissmans of Westport as a light vacation read, then reread Sense and Sensibility for fun. Major Pettigrew is on my nightstand the surrounding window sills, as is Cutting for Stone and Pat Barker’s Regeneration trilogy. Life Class, too. And Mistry’s A Fine Balance, which for some reason I’ve been putting off. I am supposed to start rereading Anna Karenina with a friend in September, so I need to get through the rest of these by then. I doubt I’ll make it!

    August 17, 2010
  10. So “The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake” left me with a bittersweet taste in my mouth (more sweet than sour). I loved the inventiveness of the story which appealed to the fantasy lover in me but the OCD in me wanted a more complete ending. If you are looking for something fresh with an in depth look into the raw emotions of its characters, then this is the book for you. Quick reading too. Am hoping there is a sequel to answer my unanswered questions though.

    August 26, 2010
    • Thanks for this Nadia.I wasn’t sure on this one, so glad to have some input. I will keep it in the lineup….

      August 29, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 303 other followers

