Skip to content

2009 Mother’s Day Pick: Atlas of the Unknowns

n296309
They say that we sometimes buy gifts for others that we covet for ourselves.

Oh.
Okay.

Mary Turner got this for Mother’s Day.
It’s hot off the press and alas a hardback, but it’s hard to get ahead of ole’ Mar Mar. 
She seems to read everything, so I have to work hard on my selections.

(Throughout this site, I will try and give credit to “Mary’s List”, because she is literally one of the best readers I know. Except that bad Joyce Carol Oats problem she has…let’s face it, JCO kinda sucks.)

I love the SF Chronicle’s book review section. They like new writers. And here is what they had to say about it:

Once in a while, a novel comes along that makes you wonder why people don’t read more fiction – why, given the right book, anyone would choose to do anything else. “Atlas of Unknowns,” the dazzling, original and deeply absorbing debut by Tania James, is this rare book
(Read the entire review here.)

Oh, I realize I am taking a risk. I could continue to have the ‘Indian Disconnect’ with Mom. She is, in fact, probably one of only 6 people that walked out of Slumdog Millionaire. And when I asked if she luuuuvvvved White Tiger, the response was tepid. 

But we’ll give it a go. 
I’m thinking that, at the very least, she’ll mail it to me…..
(Guilty!) 

Stay tuned.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Abby #

    I’m inspired by your review of this book. Maybe I’ll join your book club after all or maybe I just want to give a shout out to Mary T for inspiring the reader in you (and hopefully me).

    May 14, 2009
  2. I dug this book. I give it 4 out of 5 stars. There is some seriously funny writing amongst the sadness of this story.

    May 27, 2009
  3. katykeim #

    This just in…..we have a winner….

    Hi Katy: My comments about Atlas of Unknowns are: 1) it was one of the best books in Indian genre that I have read lately; 2) the writing style was beautiful – a very talented writer; and 3) her descriptions of her relationships with her family were central to the novel, particularly her relationship with her sister. All in all, I thught it was one of the better books I have read in a long time. It was also a different perspective writing about an Indian “Christian” famil,y other than a Hindu. Thanks for giving me the book. Love, Mom

    May 29, 2009

Leave a Reply

