Skip to content

5 Favorite Books??? Seriously? Of all time?

We played a game one night at family dinner.

The question was: “If you could only take one book if you were deserted on an island, what would you choose?”

Everyone had a turn trying hard to think of the book.
And then it got to be Tyler’s turn. (My very wise 6 year old). 

Deadpan:
“I wouldn’t go to that island.”

Amen, T-bone.  

Even picking 5 is a ridiculous feat if you love to read….but got this email from a friend after visiting the blog. 
(We’ll call him Kurt W).

It’s very inspired. 

“Newsweek has this thing where an author lists the 5 most important books to them. It got me thinking about mine, ans so this is what I wrote into my BBERRY (a poor man’s blog…):

I didn’t include the Bible, but probably should (especially the new testament). If I did it would be because it taught me that people can read different things from the same words, life’s lessons take dedicated thought to grasp, and in the end love should rule. So, with that caveat (yes, I got a 6th in without admitting it), here it goes:

1. Catcher in the rye – it taught me perspective: I read this 4 times over 10 yrs and went from seeing Holden as my hero to thinking he was a self-absorbed delusionist (aka a teenager…)

2. The time traveler’s wife – relish the simple moments with the ones you love

3. What is the what – life is not fair, so those of us who have it easy should take on the hard problems

4. The lion the witch and the wardrobe – opened my eyes to the power of imagination and sacrificing for others

5. 100 years of solitude – life is mystical and reality is surreal.”

Bring on your top 5 folks. 

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. David Fellows #

    Tyler’s my new hero! If my Kindle limited me to five books, they would be:
    1. Hamlet. Nothing finer.
    2. Jonathan Livingston Seagull. Gave me hope when I needed it.
    3. To Kill a Mockingbird. I almost named my first kid “Harper” as a tribute.
    4. Beloved. If I can’t come back as a seagull in my next life, I’ll settle for coming back as Toni Morrison.
    5. West with the Night. Because Eleanor loves it…and I love her.

    May 18, 2009
  2. Jenny Lynn #

    Top 5:
    – A Fine Balance. No other book on India holds a candle to this.
    – Angle of Repose. OK. It’s overdone, but I still love it.
    – Infidel. She kicks ass. A must read for everyone. I’ve given away at least 12 copies.
    – Abundance. This one caught me surprise.
    – Harry Truman’s biography by David McCullough. OK..after the first 75 pages it’s worth every page. He tells a great story about a truly remarkable man.
    JFL

    May 18, 2009
  3. Big Mike #

    The Fountainhead. Read it four times. Then read Atlas Shrugged. Then think about what is happening right now in our country. Tell me you don’t get a little bit nervous. Who is john galt???

    March 30, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tracy Kidder: Non-fiction Rock Star « Book Snob.

Leave a Reply

