Skip to content

It’s Friday. We’re All Winners Here, Folks.

It’s just about quitting time.
Let’s lighten it up, people.

1. WE HAVE A WINNER!
I promised a book to my chosen winner on the question: What is a Book Snob?

The wise winner said:
I’m a book snob because I’m distrustful of bestsellers.
If the general public likes it, can it really be that good?

Something about the brevity, tone, directness, and, um, snobbishness, won me over. It said: I’m serious about my reading and suspicious of the wrong sources.

Congratulations Abbie! Your book is on the way!

2. HOW SMART ABOUT BOOKS ARE YOU, REALLY?
Surely, a BookSnob would get a near perfect score on this book trivia game??
Woops.

Go for it. You have 6 minutes to name all 24 book covers.

3.  YOU WANT TO BE AN AVERAGE BOOK READER?
Nothing kills our mojo more than the thought of being average, right?

I read this week that the average U.S. Consumer spends $118 per year on reading.

Wow, really?
Fabulous, because now I have found something where I really excel.

Help me here out here….am I alone?

It motivated me to call my local bookstore and have them pull my spend.
I was delighted to discover I’m so not an average gal.

Enjoy your weekend, people.

**********

GET ON THE SAME PAGE, DARN IT!
The Vagrants–Join our virtual book group in March.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh yes, my scores : )

    16 of 24…not that impressive.

    $900 in the last twelve months at my local book store…but I guess that doesn’t include books I have picked up on Amazon, at airports and other random purchases!

    March 6, 2010
  2. Thanks, Katy! It’s good to know that I’m the biggest snob… 😉

    I’m actually below average for book spending (total library girl), so I’m particularly excited about my prize!

    (extra snobby, below average…I just sound better and better all the time)

    March 6, 2010
    • You are not the only one–I just checked poll results tonight. A little less than HALF (42%) are under $250/year. Oh I wish I could keep it to one book a month! Or the Library. Too impulsive in my purchasing I guess.

      March 9, 2010
  3. greenapril #

    Not to show off, but I scored 100% on that quiz. Woo hoo! Not that I’ve read them all… I think I just spend way too much time at the book store looking at the covers.

    I’m surprised to find out that I’m right in the middle on book spending, though: 29% of people who took the quiz (as of today) have spent between $500 and $1000 on books. You’ve got some serious readers!

    March 18, 2010
    • Very impressive! I didn’t even know some of them once I saw the titles…! The spending is up there and I should recap for viewers. If you consider all results, 59% of those surveyed spend > $500.It does seem significantly higher than average. My next poll and probably directly related, how many books do folks read/month….?

      March 18, 2010

Leave a Reply

