Skip to content

Oscars and Pen Faulkners: Like Oreos and Milk.

Did you know that 57% of Americans follow-up their Oscar analysis with a review of the Pen Faulkner nominees?

Okay, yeah. Not so much, really.

But we do!

[Don’t get me wrong. I can, and will, digress on the Oscars. I was ranting this morning on the phone about how Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin were too mean to be funny (a laughable comment for me) and how Meryl Streep did not need to be reminded, yet again, how many times she has lost, nor does George Clooney need to be reminded of how hot he is–which is unquestionably true–when he is trying to be recognized as an ACTOR. It just lacked any kind of fun or excitement. Except Charlize and JLo as triumphant fashionistas. And enough (enough!) about The Hurt Locker. It was not that good. Phew, there. My friend KW listened to all of this and said: “Wow. I guess I didn’t think that deeply about it.”]

Anywho…there are other awards around town…and I wanted to keep you posted. The Pen Faulkner nominees were announced last week–and the winner will be announced on March 23rd. The nominees:


See my reviews A Gate at the Stairs and The Lacuna and I have also included the descriptions linked to each book.

Which of these five are likely to be added next to your list?

[Added to post on 3/23/10: AND THE WINNER IS: SHERMAN ALEXIE, WAR DANCES]

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. I’ve been wanting to read more Sherman Alexie ever since I read The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven in college ten years ago. So, War Dances it is.

    March 8, 2010
  2. “Homicide Survivors Picnic” — because although I absolutely do NOT want to read stories about lives touched by murder, abuse, divorce, and uncertainty right now (heck, an ordinary Monday is hard enough as is), I know I won’t be able to resist a book with such a seriously kick-ass title. Besides, anything described as “an amazingly original Flannery O’Connor/Loretta Lynn collision” MUST be read.

    March 9, 2010
    • No doubt! Keep us posted–as I can’t tackle this one after Too Much Happiness. Eager to hear….

      March 9, 2010
  3. easyreader #

    Sag Harbor is in my fiction stack.

    March 9, 2010
  4. War Dances and The Lacuna

    I really enjoyed Alexie’s YA book, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. Good stuff if you’re looking for something else he’s written.

    March 9, 2010
    • I’m sorry to say I have NEVER read anything by Sherman Alexie.Or, it perhaps was in high school so I can’t say that even counts anymore… I think this would likely be my pick as well.

      March 9, 2010
  5. Ellen #

    And I thought this site was everything books……..who gives a flyin’ fleep about the academy awards!

    March 9, 2010
    • Noted and thanks for keeping me on task! Does it count that a lot of these pictures are based on books???? : )

      March 9, 2010
  6. The Kingsolver and Moore books are both on the teetering stack next to my bed, but, as much as I adore Kingsolver and appreciate Moore, neither is calling my name. (I’m worried that my experience of The Lacuna will imitate your own, although I wouldn’t mind the inspiration to book a trip to Mexico!) We’ll see…

    March 9, 2010
    • I would try the Moore. I think it would be a great book group read. (now there’s an idea…! : )

      March 10, 2010
  7. Nadia #

    Lacuna

    So I echo your feelings about Lacuna. After PB and Animal, Vegetable Miracle I was disappointed. I never got engaged, or loved the characters. Ah well, she did spur on my locavore movement with AVM.

    I’ll look into the others on the list.

    March 9, 2010
    • I’m never read AVM. I always kind of likened it to when Jane Smiley went off on that weird horse bender. (No one probably knows what in the hell I am talking about!!) But I wondered why I would deal with BK on the food thing when so clearly Michael Pollen is the expert. But it gives it credibility that you liked it Nad.

      March 10, 2010
      • Oh I really enjoyed AVM not only as an educational read but an easy one to get through b/c of her skill as a writer of fiction. I’m going to tackle Michael Pollen again. I had a really hard time getting started on Omnivore’s Dilemma. Enough about the corn.

        As for Smiley’s “horse book” Horse Heaven that was actually a really entertaining, engaging book filled with characters that were fun to love and hate.

        March 10, 2010

Leave a Reply

