Skip to content

Friday’s Popcorn, Served on Monday

I typically round out every week with some fun popcorn for the weekend.
I was busy preparing for my guest spot over at Motherese today, where we are launching her book group with Raising Happiness. Check it out.

It’s raining here. Still.
And it’s Monday.
So why not send it today?

1. Carolyn Kellogg at the Los Angeles Times has a much more positive view than I did on the iPad as an e-reader.

2. Break out the Lily Pulitzer, whale corduroys, and Bermuda bags! The Preppy Handbook is back! Not really my style (admittedly: anymore), but still worth a good laugh.

3. The 2010 Pulitzer Prize winners were announced today.

Fiction: Tinkers by Paul Harding.
Non-Fiction:  The Dead Hand by David E. Hoffman

4. Finally, My kids got an email this weekend from a former babysitter who is now a teacher. She sent this video to them with a note: Gotta Keep Readin’! They thought this set of middle schoolers recreating a Flash Mob in Florida was pretty darn cool.

******

For more juicy little tidbits like these, follow me on Twitter.

Reminder: on Wednesday, I will be reviewing the first 100 pages of BrooklynOur April BookSnob selection.

Share

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. I’m sorry to say that I am so out of the loop that I’m not very familiar with this year’s Pulitzer Prize winners, but in general I find the Pulitzer fiction pick to be a reliable choice.

    I’m curious, Katy: which book award do you find to be the best predictor of a good read? (Off the top of my head, the Booker Prize winners have been disappointing lately.)

    April 12, 2010
    • Don’t feel too badly about not knowing Tinkers. I see Twitter all lit up with “whoa, sorry, we didn’t even review Tinkers”. A small little publishing company seems to have caught everyone off guard. As for awards, the Pulitzer prizes always seem really strong, solid (e.g. Olive Kitteridge 2009). They’re predictable. While the Booker was off the reservation for a while, it seems to be back on track and I have to say, it pushes me out of my comfort zone more. I would be less likely to pick up one of those books on my own. But as for a predictor? I am not sure I would go so far. The best predictor I seem to have is a good friend saying “Read this. It’s awesome.”

      April 12, 2010

Leave a Reply

