Skip to content

Celebrate the “Jonathan Franzen” Milestone

Okay, see, when I started this blog, I had big-ga aspirations.
I wanted, like, seven people to read it.
I was really ambitious.

Then I got downright kooky when I learned that book reviewers actually got the books BEFORE the general public did. (How naive am I? Maybe I thought they worked extra quickly?)

And I decided: “That would be cool. My goal is to get an up and comer and review it before those hot cakes at the NYT do.”

I would be like cutting-edge blogger girl. Not like the slacker-who-is-a-blogger-girl.

True story: I now have Jonathan Franzen’s new book in my hands, labeled ‘Advance Reader’s Copy’. Right there on the cover.

It might as well say: “Rock on blogger girl”.

PEOPLE, THIS IS EXCIIIIIITING.
(right owen meany?)

MY FRIEND KATHLEEN AT GGPFB GAVE ME THIS CHERISHED COPY SO THAT I CAN DO A REVIEW.  IT’S BECAUSE OF THIS BLOG, THIS NUTTY BLOG THAT I NOW GET A SNEAK PEAK AT FREEDOM.

THE CORRECTIONS WAS WRITTEN TEN YEARS AGO.
NEARLY 10 YEARS AGO PEOPLE.

THE AVERAGE BOOK SNOB IS JUST WAITING, WAITING, WAITING FOR THIS BOOK TO COME OUT ON AUGUST 31st. AND I GOT IT IN JULY. JUUUUU-LLLLY.

DO YOU KNOW HOW SECRETLY HAPPY THIS MAKES ME?

EXCEPT NOT EVEN SO SECRETLY HAPPY BECAUSE ALL OF YOU KNOW ABOUT IT?

100 PAGES.
DELICIOUSLY GOOD.
LIKE A BIRTHDAY.

Share

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sarah Lehman #

    Can I, like, just softly stroke the cover? Just once? Please?

    August 1, 2010
  2. Holy SMACK Katy!! THIS IS HUGE!! CONGRATS!!!!!!! Keep at it. Soon the NYT will be beating up their reviewers saying, “Why can’t you be edgy and funny like BookSnob! Lighten up, people!”
    xoxo, B

    August 2, 2010
    • Enthusiasm as always B. You need to get your hot hands on this one 8/31. This is your book, I swear.

      August 3, 2010
  3. Jim Olesen #

    It is exciting and encouraging to all that J. Franzen has finished a novel after so long a time since Corrections. I heard him speak at a public gathering about two years ago. He talked then about the difficulties he was having writing, even using the term: writer’s block. So good news all around.

    August 2, 2010
    • Interesting to hear. There is a musician character in the book who really struggles with the creativity with periods of success and real dry spots. I wonder if that is autobiographical. At 200 pages in, I can’t help but think about reading the Corrections immediately after. His precision of characters, the kind of cynicism, their fragility and humanness–he is a master. Unbelievable so far.

      August 3, 2010
  4. Whats next? maybe a movie? I think it is WAY cool:) Rock on blogger girl!

    August 2, 2010
    • Now that would be stellar. Just trying to get back to posting more than 1/week!

      August 3, 2010

Leave a Reply

